Gnatola ma no kpon sia, eyenabe adelan to kpo mi sena

Gnatola ma no kpon sia, eyenabe adelan to kpo mi sena is a Ghanian proverb from ewe-mina meaning “Until the lion has his or her own storyteller, the hunter will always have the best part of the story.” The proverb exists in various forms in many African cultures and refers to the struggle between the lion and hunter in the bush. The hunter returning to the village after slaying a lion is a hero, but the conditions under which he slayed the lion will never be known fully because the lion did not get the opportunity to tell his or her side to the story. The proverb reminds us that there are two sides to every story.

The above proverb reminds me of all that we do not know about those with whom we do not get the chance to speak. I think about how different my perspective might be on world issues or politics if after reading the news I could speak with the people who weren’t given a voice in the story. This summer I will be working in Southern Africa as a junior fellow with Engineers Without Borders (EWB) Canada.  I look forward to working with and learning from the people in my community this summer to experience  and share their stories.

My goal for this blog is to tell the lion’s side of the story. To share the perspectives and stories of those who do not always get a voice.  I will share what it is like to live in a rural village in Southern Africa, what it is like to be a mzungu (white person) in my community, and what I experience as a development worker on the ground in rural Southern Africa.

I hope you will enjoy following along and learning with me this summer.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shyam on March 15, 2010 at 3:31 am

    excited!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Stanimal on March 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Lauren Hockin!
    Their ain’t no stoppin’
    her, as she saves the world,
    Her future Unfurled,
    Southern African Girl,
    Stop poverty in its tracks,
    So my kid’s kids can say
    “that shit was WACK”

    Reply

  3. Posted by Josh on March 17, 2010 at 3:00 am

    This is a great start! Looking forward to reading and following your summer and year ahead Lauren! Keep on Rockin’!

    Josh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

